Author Topic: Switching between Operating Systems?  (Read 4176 times)

Offline johnkelly.110

Switching between Operating Systems?
« on: April 05, 2010, 02:15:38 PM »
I have Ubuntu 9.10 running alongside Vista Home Edition. Most of the "stuff" I do; I am able to do through Ubuntu 9.10 and the Open Source Software (about 95%). However, as a Newbie to Ubuntu 9.10, sometimes, I find I still need to use my original OS - Vista, to do some very specific things! The only way I know how to switch from one OS to the other is to Restart the system and open the OS I want to use! Is there a quicker way to switch between each system?
 :) If this question sounds a little naive - I did tell you I was a Newbie! :)

Ubuntu Forums (Ubuntu Linux Support)

Switching between Operating Systems?
« on: April 05, 2010, 02:15:38 PM »

Offline Bruce H

Re: Switching between Operating Systems?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 03:38:19 PM »
The short answer is no, there is no way to switch between operating systems without a reboot. But there are other options available to you with Ubuntu.

It is possible to run Vista inside Ubuntu using VirtualBox. This may (or may not) be a good solution for you depending on what you are trying to accomplish. It's not a good way to run games or other applications that require accelerated graphics. To install VirtualBox, you can open the Ubuntu Software Center (Applications->Ubuntu Software Center) or the Synaptic Package Manager (System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager). Then search for VirtualBox. Alternatively, you can open a Terminal (Applications->Accessories->Terminal) and type the following command:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install virtualbox