Author Topic: Multi-monitor setup  (Read 3059 times)

Offline mikemorannj

Multi-monitor setup
« on: January 04, 2010, 12:01:32 AM »
I am new to Ubuntu and probably not as savvy as many here. I have two external monitors hooked up to my laptop through a Sewell USB to DVI adapter (http://sewelldirect.com/USB-to-DVI-External-Video-Card-High-Resolution.asp) which works fine in Windows but show up as blank green screens when I boot into Ubuntu.

I can't figure out whether my problem is that I don't know how to configure the hardware adapters or multiple monitors (or both). I've done some Google searching but haven't understood any of the answers. All help appreciated--if you think your idea might be too basic for me, you'd be wrong. :-)

Ubuntu Forums (Ubuntu Linux Support)

Multi-monitor setup
« on: January 04, 2010, 12:01:32 AM »

Bruce H

Re: Multi-monitor setup
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 01:51:38 AM »
What kind of video card do you have?

Offline mikemorannj

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 02:43:00 AM »
The extra monitors are using the Sewell adapters I posted earlier. Because it is a laptop, it runs my regular screen with the built-in card and that works just fine with Ubuntu. It's the external monitors attached to the Sewel adapters that I need help with.

Bruce H

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2010, 04:09:26 AM »
I did a little more searching and found someone who has made it work.

http://mulchman.org/blog/?tag=sewell-usb-external-video-card

Unfortunately, it looks quite involved as you'll have to compile and install the driver manually. Before beginning, I strongly recommend making backups of your important data; there is a strong possibility you'll hose your system. Especially make a backup of your current /etc/X11/xorg.conf.