Author Topic: [SOLVED] Please Help - Strange NVIDIA Problem  (Read 5357 times)

Offline sweetld

[SOLVED] Please Help - Strange NVIDIA Problem
« on: October 05, 2010, 10:17:58 PM »
Hi,

Can someone please help me? Please note although a Java developer and veteran Windows and OS/2 user I am completely new to Linux.

I bought a brand new Samsung laptop, wiped Windows 7 and installed Ubuntu 10.04. The install worked like a charm and it automatically and correctly recognized my NVIDA Geforce M310 video hardware and let me install the propriety driver to get 3D support. I have spent a few months since then getting to grips with everything, installing Compiz and all the other software I need to do everything I want. I also got all the fancy desktop eye candy working, with Cario Dock running giving me a Mac like 3D bottom bar. I recently finally sorted out my last issue - which was getting my Epsom Scanner / Printer combo working with the Scanner (printing worked fine first time) - so was  really starting to enjoy the whole experience of using Linux :) :)

That was until about a week ago... I have been regularly updating as and when updates have been available, however a recent update (not sure what it was) suddenly caused a problem as when I rebooted Ubuntu I noticed that the Cario Dock was leaving a large black background area on the screen which would never clear - it still worked, but you lost all the normal windows on the desktop underneath the black area that was left behind the dock bar.

Whilst this was not the end of the world, it very quickly annoyed me greatly and I didn't want to simply stop using Cario Dock, so I tried everything I could with the Cario Dock settings, and Compiz but nothing helped. In fact all I succeeded in doing was ending up without a window manager running at all when I rebooted!